Academic Departments

The School of Humanities and Social Sciences (HSS) is home to eight academic departments that represent a broad spectrum of programs ranging from anthropology to religious studies. These departments include many of the College's core disciplines. In addition, the school also houses a number of outstanding interdisciplinary programs, including urban studies, film studies and women's and gender studies. HSS is also home to the integrated studies program. Find out more about our departments by following the buttons on the left-hand rail.

Department Chairpersons

Ryan Milner, Ph.D.
Chair, Department of Communication

William Russell, Ph.D.
Chair, Department of English

Jason Coy, Ph.D.
Chair, Department of History

Jonathan Neufeld, Ph.D.
Chair, Department of Philosophy

Hollis France, Ph.D.
Chair, Department of Political Science

Dan Greenberg, Ph.D.
Chair, Departmenof Psychology

Zeff Bjerken, Ph.D.
Chair, Department of Religious Studies

Christine Finnan, Ph.D.
Chair, Department of Sociology and Anthropology