2014 Awardees

Each spring, the School of Humanities and Social Sciences honors graduating seniors who have distinguished themselves by amassing an impressive body of work during their undergraduate careers. The two top students in each of the majors taught within HSS are recognized for their academic achievements as HSS Scholars. A formal ceremony marks the occasion.

For the 2013-2014 academic year, the HSS Scholar award winners include:


Steven Paschal and Joseph Suthers


Thomas Horton and Amy Schlepphorst


Phoebe Doty and David Hester


Edgar Chopper Johnson and Danielle Winter


Stefan Koester

Political Science

Lexa Keane and Roysean Philson


Annie Galizio 

Public Health

Mary Crawford James and David Welborn

Religious Studies

Parker Bednar and John Caleb Wise


Elizabeth Burdette and Meg Singleton

Urban Studies

Amy Carr and Robbie Roberts

Women's and Gender Studies

Bri Sanders and Lizzy Vaughn